In 1951, the University of Connecticut began offering extension courses at the former Stamford High School. In fall of 1952, the University formally established a regional campus in Stamford. Upon inception, UConn’s Stamford Campus offered five courses — English, Mathematics, History, Speech and Sociology and enrolled 21 part-time students.
A newly constructed UConn Stamford Campus opened in 1962 on Scofield Town Road, and a separate library building was added in 1974. Also in the mid-1970s, the academic program was expanded to provide a four-year degree in several fields of study.
In 1990, planning began for a new UConn Stamford Campus in the heart of downtown Stamford. One of the first UConn 2000 building projects, the new state-of-the-art campus opened in 1998, offering a variety of academic programs including undergraduate and graduate degrees.
The contemporary glass-enclosed campus features a high-tech approach to learning from desktop computer stations in our main computer lab to integrated online computer accessibility in our classrooms, laboratories and public spaces.
Located among Fortune 500 business headquarters in the heart of downtown, UConn’s Stamford Campus partners with many corporate leaders and offers students valuable hands-on work experience. In collaboration with area businesses, UConn’s Stamford Campus established the CITI program, a full-service resource center that provides IT professional development and cyber-business research.